Workers’ compensation can be a difficult topic to wade through when you need to find answers to questions. This is a brief discussion about the law, including the ins and outs of the law in the state of Georgia.
First off, workers’ compensation is a type of program that is paid for by employers. It covers employee income benefits, rehabilitation and medical expenses if injured on the job. The program also provides your dependents benefits should you die as a result of a workplace accident. The program is in place to help you return to work as soon as possible.
The best benefit of workers’ compensation is the fact that you are covered under the employer’s plan beginning with your first day on the job. Georgia law requires any business with three or more workers, including regular part-time workers, to have workers’ compensation for their employees.
Never wait to report an accident on the job. If you wait longer than 30 days, it is quite possible that you could lose your benefits. Make sure all reports are documented and that your immediate supervisor or boss is notified immediately.
Your income benefits kick in if you miss seven days of work due to an accident that occurred on the job. If you miss more than 21 straight days of work due to the accident, you will be paid retroactively for the first week you missed.
Your weekly income benefits will be two-thirds of your average weekly wage, but will be no more than $575.00 weekly for any accident that occurred after July 1, 2016.
You can receive weekly income benefits for 400 weeks if your injury occurred on or after July 1, 1992. Under Georgia law, if your injury prevents you from getting another job, you are entitled to help finding another job or learning another job. This can be acquired using the State Board of Workers’ Compensation.
An experienced workers’ compensation attorney in Atlanta, Georgia, can guide you through the application process in the event of workplace injuries.